A Voice of Colorado No. 1000:

It is time to say goodbye.

Like many others I have had more than one job in my working life. Like many others I have changed employment voluntarily and involuntarily (The latter by way of the curious and somewhat unsettling phrase “downsizing”.)

At one point in my working life I was offered a job that seemed perfect: An paycheck that was unmatched for some time, an unequaled benefits package, the opportunity for advancement and promotion, co-workers and superiors who made the workplace enjoyable and appealing every day, and work that allowed me to realize pride and accomplishment.

It seemed that I had achieved something relatively few others had. But one day during the workweek I awoke and realized that I was not happy.

I was not unhappy. I was not happy.

The revelation was concerning. So much so that I thought about it the entire day while at work and before I went to sleep that night. I thought about it when I woke the next day, the entire day, and that night – which was sleepless night because I could not identify what it was that resulted in this certain truth and fact.

After almost a month of obsessing and torturing myself I decided to seek counsel and advice from a friend of many years, who embodied happiness, Dean.

Dean lived on a rural property of several hundred acres, in a modest house. (It had 2,000 square feet of usable space.) Not far from the house was a large barn. (It had 30,000 square feet of usable space, on three floors.)

I met Dean by chance when I had a job as a contract employee for a company that struggled to find success. He was also on a contract, doing work that would eventually become known as a “Project Manager”. When our contracts expired Dean started his own company, and when I determined that I was not happy in what seemed an ideal job I went to his business, located in his big barn, to ask him what I should do.

By way of education and experience Dean was a design engineer. Over time he decided that he wanted to design things that had worth and value. His designs took the form of home furnishings – among other things. For example, when a prospective client ask him to design and build a reclining chair he could sit in for long periods of time and get out of easily Dean produced the desired product.

As a result of his efforts Dean found his work in demand. But he had a hard-and-fast rule where work was concerned: He scheduled so many hours a year, and work so many hours in that timeframe. When he reached the limit he was done for the year.

This, of course, resulted in a backlog of orders for his services and products.

To reduce the pending workload Dean hired an employee for his business; then another, and another, and before long he employed twenty individuals, who shared his philosophies where work and life were concerned.

When I realized that I was not happy in the seemingly ideal job I had I made an appointment to visit with Dean. I could not help but notice that all of his employees were happy, just like he was.

Are you happy, I asked.

Yes, Dean replied.

Where does it come from – your happiness?

It comes from within, Dean said.

In that moment I knew that I would have to quit my job and find a job that would make me happy. I also knew what Dean meant when he said what he said, about happiness coming from within.

The following day I began formulating a plan to do what needed to be done. I researched companies in the area where I lived and made a list of companies I would submit my resume to for consideration.

Before I could implement my plan, however, I was downsized. The company I worked for, the seemingly ideal job I held underwent a massive reorganization and restructuring, with the reason being the company wanted to go “in a new and exciting direction”. (Aside: They eventually filed bankruptcy and no longer exist.)

The day I was informed that I would “involuntarily be separated” I took my resume to a business I had researched and submitted it. The day after my downsizing was completed I started a new job – which allowed me happiness.

It is time to say goodbye.

When I undertook this effort I did so without expectation or prejudice. As a result I achieved a measure of success. But as I pursued it I came to the realization that I was not happy – and I attributed that to the writing overall published. It was not writing that represented or reflected me as a Coloradan.

It is time to say goodbye.

It is time to say goodbye to writing that lacks purpose and function, worth and value; writing disguised as informative but that is nothing more than propaganda. (In the age of “Fake News” this should be an absolute requirement for all non-fiction writing.)

It is time to discard content that is not actual content. THE DRUDGE REPORT is an aggregate web site – it provides little content, and points people to other web sites where actual content exists or should exist. Specifically content that is original.

It is time to scrap to the slagheap of history and oblivion Social Media platforms that are anti-social; by their nature self-defeating, and, therefore, not actual resources. A newspaper, for example, that allows people to establish accounts that use fake names implicitly condones Fake News as well as fraud; in doing so destroys its credibility, respectability, purpose function, worth, and value. Add the comments published to such platforms that are explicit and implicit insults and threats, and the newspaper has destroyed its existence as a trustworthy resource.

It is time to determine with clarity what matters and what does not matter. Why do something if it does not serve to advance and better you, your life, and humanity? For example, Facebook, described accurately by many as the poster child of anti-Social Media, and one of the greatest wastes of time known.

Facebook once had the potential to become a resource unequal; a resource that could have benefited the world and humanity. Instead it has become a breeding ground for the worst humanity has to offer.

Increasingly people are choosing to abandon Social Media platforms, and that is unfortunate because there is such potential and opportunity inherent.

It is time to say goodbye to those who choose to squander their lives, and it is time to embrace and celebrate those who seek out and find purpose, worth, function, and value in all that they do.

For example, last August I was given a small cactus which I learned is a barrel cactus. I subsequently learned about the number of cactus (cacti) in the State of Colorado, and I learned how to establish and maintain a cactus garden where I live.

When I received the cactus it was the size of my thumb. Presently it has grown to the size of my fist. (Aside: Advice was imparted when I received it – transplant it to a bigger container now, when it is more manageable. I heeded the advice and transplanted the cactus to a container appropriate for a small bush. The cactus has responded favorably.)

It is time to say goodbye to the white noise in the news media. I choose to follow the example of Dean: He does not have a television. He has an emergency radio with AM and FM features, as well as a weather function, and other frequencies. He listens to the news headlines in the morning, and sometimes enjoys a sports event.

His life is better for this choice. My life is better for the choice.

It is time for the individual to take responsibility for their well-being where education and knowledge are concerned. Equally, it is time to disregard those who openly threaten others because they do not unconditionally submit to the politically-driven so prevalent in public education. True education is about learning through experience. It is not about passive brainwashing and indoctrination through intimidation.

It is time to say goodbye to what has not and does not work where purpose, function, worth, and value are concerned. It is time to make a difference regarding the advancement and fulfillment of the individual and the human race, for the realization and betterment of all.

Leave a Reply

